Author Interview – Molly Gambiza

Welcome to my blog site, appreciate you dropping by, I think it is lovely way to get to know authors through these interviews, hope you think the same.   Last time I had Anita Kovacevic call in, and this week’s guest is the a lovely author with a mission, Molly Gambiza, so pour yourself a cuppa, sit back and enjoy.

Hi Molly, thank you for sharing about yourself and your work with us, I enjoyed your book ‘A Woman’s Weakness’, it conveys a serious issue that confronts many women all over the world.

Molly compress

Tell me how did your book come to life?

‘A Woman’s Weakness’ novel came as no surprise as I had caught the writing bug from my first novel ‘True Colours’ and my second novel ‘Mistaken Identity’.  I felt I had much more to say, more stories to tell and more characters to develop.  ‘A Woman’s Weakness’ showed me that this was no longer a hobby but a passion.

Did you plan to be an author? Can you explain your experience?

I wanted to create stories from an early age, that was my dream but I never had the tools, I needed to polish up my English for a start.  When I finally had the tools, time stood in the way.  I was working twelve hours a day, five days a week and on the weekends I just wanted to rest.  I would read a lot of novels at work and I guess that’s where it began for me.  I read hundreds of books and thought to myself, “Do you know what Molly, you can do this as well”.   I started jotting down a few ideas which developed into storylines and now I’m an Author; it’s funny how the universe works.

 

Did you have to think about the title of your book, and how did you come to choose the name?

The title is the longest part of the process, I went through scores of ideas for ‘A Woman’s Weakness’, but this fitted snugly with the theme of the story, when the title is right you just know. I had suggested a title to my Son during the process, after ‘A Woman’s Weakness’ was published he came to me saying, “Thank God you didn’t choose the other one, I couldn’t sleep when you suggested it”.  It does require time and careful thought, you want a title that grabs the audience but represents your work accurately as well.  It shouldn’t be rushed, because of this however it can have you feeling left on the shelf (pun intended), when you know, you know!

What location(s) did you decide to use for your story and what were your reasons?

My story is set in England where I live and Uganda where I’m from, the themes I was addressing through the story were things I saw and heard growing up and both countries were ideal location to set the story.  It made it easier to create characters and paint scenes as I was from the areas I was writing about.  It was important to me to accurately paint the picture; I wanted my readers to be so drawn in that they could feel like they were there.

Tell us what is your book about?

‘A Woman’s Weakness’ is about Eva a young, gentle African woman who immigrated to United Kingdom in order to get away from her controlling family and their expectations.  She is in for a shock when she blindly falls in love with David, a man from Uganda.  David is a man who practices domestic violence in his household.  Eva must obey and submit, accept anything thrown at her which includes a controlling mother-in-law and a sullen step-daughter, Tamara. Eva isn’t living, she is surviving. There is a voice in her head shouting, No more! But she has neither voice nor courage to walk away, she is a broken woman. But when David beats her in front of their three year daughter Mia, something inside Eva snaps, realising that David needs her more than she ever needed him.

An emotional tale of a marriage pushed to the brink, ‘A Woman’s Weakness’ explores the limits of love, loyalty, and one woman’s self-worth.

IMG_0499

What is the main theme running through your book and what does this main theme mean to you. Is it a passion in your life?

‘A Woman’s Weakness’, illustrates the dynamics of traditional Ugandan households, not all but the things the women go through in common.  Women were seen as chattel and nothing more by these types of men. The theme is something I’m passionate about, I want women to realise that they aren’t alone in their struggle and that there is always a way to break free.

I saw women abused and oppressed all too often when I was younger, I knew I never wanted to be that ‘Woman’ but knew I had to do something to help that ‘Woman’.  Writing is my way of helping, hopefully through my words someone somewhere will realise the pain he’s inflicting, or the strength she actually has.

 

What do you think makes a great writer? Do you need to be taught to write?

A great writer is someone who can educate through a gripping story. Authors like Wilbur Smith, John Grisham and Danielle Steele are excellent writers and are authors who figured out how to do that perfectly. I think anybody with a story to tell or advice to impart can write. A lot of the time authors get caught up in the publishing and promotion process and forget that it’s the story that will sell or inspire a reader.  If an author can move a reader to tears, can make them laugh and can make them think, all in the same book, they are a great writer.

Do you have a message you want to convey with your book(s)?

My message is a simple one, “Be all you can be, live your dreams and aspirations, follow your passion, live a full life so you may die empty”.  My work so far has advocated for ‘Women’ and our empowerment, especially in Third-World countries.  If a collective conscious can come together we may be able to change perceptions and actually help women to achieve their full potential.

 

Do you have plans to write another book(s) with the same theme(s)?

I am now working on, ’A Woman Weakness’ book two, it should be ready soon. I have a few more books in the pipeline that follow the same themes I’ve been writing about.  I have looked at writing different genres and relish a challenge so you may see a crime book pop up by me one day.

 

How do you feel when you see the numbers of books on the market today and the number of self-published authors increasing and everyone trying to get attention? How do you keep motivated?

I am actually motivated by the increase of self-published authors.  I know the struggle of trying to get published and the bigger struggle of once getting published, ensuring that you aren’t messed about by a publisher.  It makes the journey more worthwhile knowing that there is an author somewhere in the world going through what I am.  My family keep me motivated; my eldest Son writes poetry so he is my ‘go-to’ person on anything literary.  Having a support system is important in this process as well, sometimes you need a gentle reminder that things will be ok.

Is there is anything else you’d like to add?

I want to thank Sharyn Be for inviting me over for a chat to talk about myself.  I would like also to thank each and every one who has supported my cause talking openly about domestic violence.  It’s not a subject one is comfortable with but it should not be pushed under the carpet. I encourage women not to suffer in silence because silence kills. To the readers, thank you for spreading the word.

 A womens weakness compress

Twitter- @GambizaMolly
Facebook- Molly Gambiza
Leave a Reply

